Lucky??

Posted: June 30, 2013 in Uncategorized

I know that anyone in my position has to use the word Lucky carefully, I am after all the product of some very unlucky circumstances and the very fact I have BPD at all would in many ways preclude me from luck, right?

Now that notwithstanding I look at my peers and say quite categorically that I am a very lucky man and I don’t say that as a brag but merely  to acknowledge the facts.

Yes I have been through my own version of hell, as have my family and it may sound weird to think in this was but I was blessed with things many of my peers never got close to. Firstly my wife has always been there, I would have succumbed to my basest emotions long ago if not for the understanding and support of my wife and I know that so many PD patients are either alone or under supported by their partners or very much worse, so I think acknowledging that is important.

Secondly I have a wonderful circle of friends who are all fully aware of my condition and don’t bat an eyelid, they have defended me when required and rallied when asked, which was never often, for much to my chagrin I kept them at arms length at my worst and this was so unnecessary.

I also got onto a wonderful treatment program where I was introduced to some of the most amazing people I have ever met, yes I met some major league asses but those that I id take to are still my friends today and thanks to their experiences and insight I am able to do what I do now.

I have also benefited from meeting the psycho therapists who assisted my peers in improving my life and through them I have moved into the world of peer support which has opened up a whole new world for me. In this role I get to meet more great people and as a result I have been trained to deliver awareness level training about PD, I have managed to use my experiences as horrible as they were to enlighten professionals and hopefully inform their future work with PD patients.

I don’t often express the positives in my life and many people assume I don’t notice them, I do but its hard to wax lyrical about good things when your trying to prevent yourself from killing someone random, that’s not to say I don’t want to but its a case of prioritising my thoughts and today, thankfully I am able to acknowledge my blessings, may this continue for a while.

Leave a Reply

